Urgent Update November 6

AN URGENT UPDATE ON THE AMENDMENT REGARDING FUNDING FOR THE WEHR NATURE CENTER

As you know, we have been working diligently to gain the support of the Milwaukee County Supervisors through a budget amendment that reinstates funding for the UW Extension positions currently assigned to the Wehr Nature Center. Click here for more information.

As I reported to you on November 3rd, an amendment was before the Finance Committee.  However, coming out of the Finance Committee this afternoon a total of three amendments regarding the Wehr Nature Center Funding will now appear before the full County Board on Monday, November 10th.  Let me explain.  Both Supervisors Cullen and Taylor drafted their own amendment – that makes two.  Then Supervisors Cullen and Taylor worked together to combine their amendments, which resulted in the “Cullen/Taylor Amendment” – that makes three.  Instead of presenting the combined amendment to the full board, the Finance Committee has decided to present all three.  You can imagine the confusion this creates.

So what is next?  If you have not already contacted your County Supervisor, but plan on doing so, it is imperative that you clearly ask for their support of the combined Cullen/Taylor amendment.  If you have already contacted your County Supervisor and wish to contact them again, please do so by clearly asking them to support the combined Cullen/Taylor amendment.  If you have already contacted your County Supervisor, but do not wish to make yet another call or send another email – we understand.  We thank you for all that you have done.

Thank you all for your continued support as we work to keep the staffing at the Wehr Nature Center intact while at the same time work toward the long term sustainability of the Center.  Please don’t hesitate to contact me at pbrings@att.net if you have any questions or need clarification.  Time is of the essence – the full County Board will be considering the three amendments at the November 10th Full Board meeting.

Sincerely,

Paul  Brings

Paul Brings, President

Friends of Wehr Board

Milwaukee County Board – Contact Information

Please contact your respective County Board Representative as well as Willie Johnson, Jr. or David Cullen, since they are the Finance Committee Co-Chairs.
Please clearly ask them to support the combined Cullen/Taylor amendment
Non-Milwaukee County Residents – Please contact Willie Johnson, Jr. or Dave Cullen, the Co-Chairs of the Finance committee
(phone numbers below).
Time is of the essence.  Please act now.  Thank you.
District Supervisor Additional Board Positions Phone Number Email Address
1 Theodore Lipscomb, Sr. 414-278-4280 theodore.lipscomb@milwaukeecountywi.gov
2 Khalif Rainey 414-278-4278 khalif.rainey@milwaukeecountywi.gov
3 Gerry Broderick 414-278-4237 gerry.broderick@milwaukeecountywi.gov
4 Marina Dimitrijevic Also serves as Chairwoman 414-278-4232 marina.dimitrijevic@milwaukeecountywi.gov
5 Vacant Contact Marina Dimitrijevic (Chairwoman) 414-278-4232 marina.dimitrijevic@milwaukeecountywi.gov
6 James “Luigi” Schmitt 414-278-4273 james.schmitt@milwaukeecountywi.gov
7 Michael Mayo, Sr. 414-278-4241 michael.mayo@milwaukeecountywi.gov
8 Patricia Jursik 414-278-4231 patricia.jursik@milwaukeecountrywi.gov
9 Steve Taylor Also serves as Second Vice-Chair 414-278-4267 steve.taylor@milwaukeecountywi.gov
10 David Bowen 414-278-4265 david.bowen@milwaukeecountywi.gov
11 Mark Borkowski 414-278-4253 mark.borkowski@milwaukeecountywi.gov
12 Peggy Romo West Also serves as First Vice-Chair 414-278-4269 peggy.romowest@milwaukeecountywi.gov
13 Willie Johnson, Jr. Also serves as Finance Committee Co-Chair 414-278-4233 willie.johnson@milwaukeecountywi.gov
14 Jason Haas 414-278-4252 jason.haas@milwaukeecountywi.gov
15 David Cullen Also serves as Finance Committee Co-Chair 414-278-4263 david.cullen@milwaukeecountywi.gov
16 John Weishan, Jr. 414-278-4255 John.weishan@milwaukeecountywi.gov
17 Anthony Staskunas 414-278-4247 anthony.staskunas@milwaukeecountywi.gov
18 Deanna Alexander 414-278-4259 deanna.alexander@milwaukeecountywi.gov
Contact Information For John Dargle, Milwaukee County Parks Director
Phone Number:  414-257-4774
Email Address:  john.dargle@milwaukeecountywi.gov
Address: 9480 Watertown Plank Road, Wauwatosa, WI 53226
Mailing Address for Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors
Milwaukee County Courthouse
901 North 9th Street, Room 201
Milwaukee, WI   53233
414-278-4222